[useful_banner_manager_banner_rotation banners=72,74,79 interval=10 width=120- height=600 orderby=rand]

Academy Cougars Kali ‘Special-K’ Benavente has been named the IIAAG Girls Basketball MVP for the 2015 season during after the official selections for the All-Island team Monday evening. Benavente brings in her first ever MVP award with ND’s Destiny Castro winning the award last year and former Cougar teammate Alina Bonto winning the award in 2013.

Benavente and the (15-0) Academy Cougars had the most All Island selections in 2015 with three total.

All Island 1st Team

G – Kali Benavente (Academy)
G – Joy Pangilinan (St. Paul)
F – Destiny Castro – (ND)
F – Kiersten Pangelinan – (Academy)
C – Marlisah Tenorio – (Southern)

All Island 2nd Team

G – Shania Bulala (Okkodo)
G – Ciana Reyes (JFK)
F – Nica Mojas (Okkodo)
F – Colleen Quinata (GW)
C – Mia San Nicolas (Academy)

Honorable Mention

Guards – Ana Aguon GW, Bila Aguon GW, Kimberly Malalis SHS

Forwards – Brianne Leon Guerrero ND, Johnia Siguenza GW, Jada James Tiyan, Nadine San Nicolas SHS

Center – Britney Bailey GH


Share this article: