Sunday, February 15, 2015 – CENTRAL LANES BOWLING CENTER, Tamuning, Guam

Top seed Keith Guerrero waltz through the field during the February edition of the Budweiser King of the Lanes held on Sunday, February 15, 2015 at the Central Lanes Bowling Center. Guerrero handily defeated 8th seed Greg Borja in the monthly finale 234-176 using a five bagger in the early frames to cinch the crown.

In the semi-final round Guerrero knocked off 5th seed John John Ada 237-181 while Borja slipped past second seed Ray San Nicolas 218-216 to set up the finals.

Guerrero set a new Guam Bowling Congress record averaging 272 pins per game on the long oil pattern set for the month with games of 275, 269, 260, 260, 289 and 279 for a blistering 1632 total, 259 pins ahead of Ray San Nicolas’s 1373. Paul Thompson finished in third with a 1282 total followed by Tim Nauta 1277, John John Ada 1272, John Leon Guerrero 1213, Manny Torre 1210, Greg Borja 1199, Dante Godoy 1181 and Von Cabral 1170 rounded off the top ten.

Jared Gutierrez converted a 3-6-10 leave and struck on the tenth frame to edge Amber San Nicolas for the February Prince of the Lanes title with a 174-171 victory. San Nicolas took the early lead with a double but splits on the third, sixth and seventh frames allowed Gutierrez to get back into the match. In the final stanza, San Nicolas struck then left a weak ten on the next shot that forced Gutierrez to spare and hit count for the victory.

Top seed Gutierrez beat out 7th seed Chris Leal in the semi-final round 239-202 while San Nicolas defeated 2nd seed Ryan Flores 184-100 which set up the finale.

Gutierrez took pole position in the six game qualifier held earlier in the day with a 1229 total on 114 pins of handicap followed by Flores 1209 (240), Nikko Gutierrez 1187 (102), Josh George 1185 (108), Alex Kloulubak 1181 (144), Arnold Javier 1177 (90), Cris Leal 1158 (108), Amber San Nicolas 1154 (96), Juan Blas 1147 (102) and Cesar Villanueva 1144 (78) rounded off the top ten.

The next Budweiser King and Prince of the Lanes will be held on Sunday, March 22, 2015, 11:00 a.m. at the Central Lanes Bowling Center.

Share this article: